MISSISSIPPI STATE

P.O. Box 157-A, Whitfield, MS 39193

Phone (601) 351-8018 Fax (601) 351-8364

www.msh.state.ms.us

For Immediate Release

April 1, 2010

Contact: Adam Moore (601) 351-8262, adam.moore@msh.state.ms.us

MISSISSIPPI STATE HOSPITAL HONORS DOCTORS

WHITFIELD—Mississippi State Hospital recently honored its medical staff in recognition of National Doctors' Day, held every March 30 to celebrate the doctors who serve their friends, neighbors and communities across the country.

Doctors were honored with a luncheon on the hospital campus, during which they received a special commemorative photo of the hospital taken during the February snowstorm, and a reception in the Public Relations Conference Center.

They were able to stop by the reception all throughout the day for refreshments and snacks, as well as to receive a small token of appreciation from the hospital. They received small scrolls with a carnation, the symbol of National Doctors' Day. When unrolled, the scrolls contained a small message about the origin of National Doctors' Day and a word of thanks from MSH Director James G. Chastain.

"As doctors across the country are honored for their service today, please accept this gift as a small token of our appreciation, and know that we value the service you provide day in day out, all year long. Thank you for everything you do," he said.

MSH, a facility of the Mississippi Department of Mental Health, was founded in 1855 and facilitates improvement in the quality of life for Mississippians who are in need of mental health, chemical dependency or nursing home services, by rehabilitating to the least restrictive environment, utilizing a range of psychiatric and medical services, which reflect the accepted standard of care and are in compliance with statutory and regulatory guidelines. The hospital is accredited by the Joint Commission.

- 30 -

PHOTO ATTACHED: Pictured are Mississippi State Hospital doctors gathered for a luncheon in recognition of National Doctors' Day. They are (first row, l to r) Sheryl Smothers, MD; Kirtida Desai, MD; Angela Chandler, MD; Sonja Stiff, DMD; Sara Gleason, MD; (second row, l to r) Teresa Mendenhall, MD; Robert Maddux, MD; (third row, l to r) Belinda Edwards, NP; Lydia Weisser, DO; Craig Escude, MD; George Ladner, MD; Karen Pruitt, DMD; Clyde Watkins, MD; (fourth row l to r) Duncan Stone, DMD; and Walter Jones, MD, with Hudspeth Regional Center.